Bennett Selected As Liberty Fellow

Liberty Fellows 2016Senator Sean Bennett was recently selected from more than 400 nominees across South Carolina to participate in the Liberty Fellowship program.

GREENVILLE, South Carolina (July 8, 2014) – Bringing the total number of Liberty Fellows to 230, the class announced today is characterized by nimble, forward thinking leadership.  The 22 new Fellows were selected from over 400 nominations and represent all areas of South Carolina.

“Every one of these Fellows comes into the program with a strong sense of civic responsibility and proven willingness to tackle tough problems,” said Hayne Hipp, who co-founded Liberty Fellowship with his wife, Anna Kate. “While they are exceptionally accomplished today, we expect great things out of their seminar experience and commitment to South Carolina over the long term.”

For the lifelong program, Liberty Fellowship recruits diverse leaders and immerses them in four seminars over a two-year period. Fellows reflect on what makes a just society, thereby deepening knowledge, broadening perspectives and enhancing their capacity to solve the problems leaders face in this state. During the Globalization Seminar, Fellows interact with Fellows from the Aspen Global Leadership Network in locations such as South Africa, Jordan, India and China. During the first two years of the program, each Liberty Fellow also is paired with a mentor and commits to a personal leadership project focused on South Carolina.

“Peppered heavily with leaders who have built successful models to address some of society’s greatest challenges, the Class of 2016 is creative and energetic,” added Executive Director Jennie Johnson. “They will be a force in South Carolina individually and perhaps even collectively.”

These are the Liberty Fellows for the Class of 2016:

Laura Basile, Neonatologist – Palmetto Health Richland; Columbia

Sean Bennett, SC Senator, President/CEO – Asset Integration Consultants, Inc.; Summerville

Moir Donelson, President – Devro, Inc.; Columbia

J.C. Glick, Director of Victory College – United States Army; Fort Jackson

Iris Griffin, Director of Audit Services – SCANA Corporation; Cayce

Nikki Hall, Commissioner & Chairman – SC Public Service Commission; Columbia

Elisabeth (Lisa) Hayes, Executive Director – Chatham Cty. Safety Net Planning Council; Bluffton

Marlon Kimpson, SC Senator, Partner – Motley Rice Law Firm; Charleston

David Koysza, Senior Counsel – The Boeing Company; North Charleston

Bridget Laird, CEO – WINGS for Kids, Inc.; Charleston

Andrea Meade, Principal – Brentwood Road Ventures; Greenville

Adela Mendoza, Executive Director – Hispanic Alliance of South Carolina; Greenville

Rob Morgan, Physician – Greenville Anesthesiology, PA; Greenville

Bruce Ovbiagele, Chairman, Department of Neurology – MUSC; Charleston

Rick Reames, Director – SC Department of Revenue*; Columbia

Rick Redden, President – Wells Fargo South Carolina; Charleston

Sammy Riddle, CEO and Co-founder – M33 Integrated Solutions; Greenville

Christian Soura, Deputy Chief of Staff – SC Office of the Governor; Columbia

Ann Marie Stieritz, President & CEO – SC Council on Competitiveness; Columbia

Lee Yarborough, President & Shareholder – Propel HR; Greenville

Margaret Young, Partner & Market Team Leader – PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLC; Spartanburg

Thomas R. Young, IV, President – Young Office; Greenville

View details here.

About Liberty Fellowship

Liberty Fellowship is a statewide leadership initiative founded by Anna Kate and Hayne Hipp, Wofford College and The Aspen Institute. Through the Fellow program, Liberty Fellowship seeks to inspire outstanding leadership in South Carolina, empowering the state’s leaders to realize their full potential. Fostering a values-based approach, Liberty Fellowship exposes rising leaders to diverse perspectives, critical thinking, and intellectual and personal development. For more information: www.libertyfellowshipsc.org.

Filed in: Leadership, Press Release, Uncategorized Tags: ,

Get Updates

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© 2017 Senator Sean M. Bennett. All rights reserved.